WIN HomeResources Staff Program and StructureMembership

CWMA’s are local partnerships representing a diverse group of individuals, organizations, and agencies who share a geographic area and thus have similar weed concerns and issues. 

CWMA’s: Development and Purpose

WIN has assisted in the formation of nine local groups that coordinate the on-the-ground weed inventory, control, prevention, and educational activities of the participating partners.

CWMA partners educate landowners and the general public about controlling and preventing the spread of invasive weeds though tours, workshops, displays, and volunteer activities such as ivy pulls or fish and wildlife habitat restoration projects.

The majority of the CWMA’s have a long-term management plan, a yearly operating plan, and a memorandum of understanding that demonstrates commitment to partnering organizations.

Click on the link to download the map.

The CWMA’s currently in operation are listed below.

Map of CWMA’s in the WIN Program


Benton County

Chair: Michael Ahr, Natural Resource Conservation Program Manager Benton SWCD, Corvallis, Oregon

Columbia Gorge

Hood River, Wasco, Klickitat & Skamania Counties

Co-Chair: Emily Stevenson, Program Coordinator Skamania County Noxious Weed Control Program
Stevenson, Washington

Coordinator: Courtney Gattuso
Columbia Gorge CWMA
Oregon City, Oregon

Four County

Clackamas, Clark, Multnomah & Washington Counties

Co-Chair: Mitch Bixby, City of Portland, Bureau of Environmental Services
Portland, Oregon 503-823-2989

Co-Chair:  Samuel Leininger, WeedWise Program Manager Clackamas SWCD
Oregon City, Oregon

Coordinator: Courtney Gattuso
4 County Cooperative Weed Management Area


Western Lane & Lincoln Counties

Chair: Chris Cornwell
Noxious Weed Coordinator/Vegetation Program
Lincoln County Public Works/Roads
Newport, Oregon


Marion, Polk & Yamhill Counties

Chair: Jenny Meisel, Resource Conservationist
Marion SWCD
Salem, Oregon
503-391-9927 ext.312   

North Coast

Tillamook, Clatsop & Columbia Counties

Chair: Grahma Klag, Executive Director, North Coast Watershed Association
Astoria, Oregon

South Coast

Douglas, Coos & Curry

Chair: Melaney Dunne, Coquille Watershed Association
Coquille, Oregon

Upper Willamette

Eastern Lane & Linn Counties

Chair: Wes Messinger, Willamette Valley Project Botanist
US Army Corps of Engineers
541-688-8147 x1013

Oregon Dunes

Siuslaw National Forest
Waldport, Oregon